Parables Impresses In 2010 Silver Shadow Stakes Win Over Solar Charged

August 22nd, 2010

The Group Three Silver Shadow Stakes (1200m) took to Sydney’s Warwick Farm Racecourse on Saturday, and didn’t disappoint its spectators with a thrilling race.

Parables in barrier eight proved to horseracing punters at Sportsbet that going against the odds can often provide!

Trained by Peter Snowden, the Lonhro filly seemed out of the running sitting towards the back of the pack on the turn into the straight. Tim Clark was in the saddle and took a risk – he guided his mount to the notoriously dangerous inside area of the track – but it paid off.

With 200 metres to go, the duo powered home to leave Solar Charged back in second place by a length.

It is the second consecutive runner up spot the John O’Shea-trained filly has claimed, having finished second in the 2010 San Domenico Stakes earlier this month – so could be a good filly to follow with

Nash Rawiller, champion hoop, was in the Charge Forward filly’s saddle, and was pleased with the gallant jump. The pair struck gold off the start, securing a three length lead from Chance Bye, which finished third overall.

Peter Snowden was delighted with his stars jump, and is pencilling in the remaining events in the Princess Series for Parables. The filly will back up her win with a jump in the Group Two Furious Stakes (1400m) on September 4, the Group Two The Tea Rose Stakes (1500m) on September 18 and then the spring target – the Group One Flight Stakes (1600m) on October 2.

Also taking place on Saturday in Sydney was the headlining event – the Warwick Stakes – which saw Clark claim another winner, this time aboard the Chris Waller-trained Metal Bender.

So if you would like to follow any of Saturday’s victors throughout the upcoming spring carnival, head to for the best odds and markets online!

2010 Silver Shadow Stakes Results

Place Horse Trainer Jockey
Peter Snowden Tim Clark
Solar Charged
John O’Shea Nash Rawiller
Chance Bye
Michael Tubman Kathy O’Hara
More Strawberries
Gai Waterhouse Glyn Schofield
Kris Lees Tye Angland
Slow The Flow
Matthew Smith Danny Nikolic
Ambers Waltz
John O’Shea Blake Shinn
Peter Snowden Joshua Parr
Dance Of The Ocean
John P Thompson Dean Holland
Tim Martin Jay Ford
Gregory Mcfarlane Jim Cassidy
Golden Millennium
Anthony Cummings Peter Robl
Anthony Cummings Hugh Bowman